Compassionate Counsel

The Compassionate Counsel distinction is awarded to exceptional trial lawyers who understand the value and embody the ethos of The Milestone Foundation. Congratulations to our 2024 honorees!

Compassionate Counsel put their clients first—they represent them tirelessly while being sensitive to the trauma they have endured. These attorneys see access to ethical funding and financial support as a right, and they prioritize their clients’ future well-being beyond settlement.

2024 Winners

Holly Werkema
Holly WerkemaBaron & Budd
Danielle Ward Mason
Danielle Ward MasonBullock Ward Mason
Katie Kerner
Katie KernerJenner Law
Kelly Reardon
Kelly ReardonThe Reardon Law Firm
Caty O'Quinn
Caty O'QuinnBeasley Allen

Thank you to our Sponsors!

Previous Winners

Kim DoughertyJustice Law Collaborative
Ellen RelkinWeitz & Luxenberg
Anna RolBaron & Budd
Ben WhitleyThe Whitley Law Firm

Press Release: Inaugural Compassionate Counsel Awards Recognize Civil Justice Innovators

BUFFALO, N.Y., Nov. 30, 2022 /PRNewswire/ — The Milestone Charitable Foundation announces the launch of Compassionate Counsel, a distinction awarded annually to a select group of trial lawyers who are innovative in their pursuit of justice. Four exceptional individuals have been named to the award’s inaugural 2023 class. Read the announcement >>